Chose to Make Memories Today

Good Sunday Morning my friends,

I think most of you all know that I have several passions that run deep within my soul but my boys are one of my most treasured passions. They’re everything and more than I ever dreamt. They are one of the reasons that I wake up every morning and want to go to work. They are one of the reasons why I continuously look for ways to achieve more in life. It’s because of them and Keri that my desire to leave a legacy runs deep within my veins.
I went to bed last night dreading today because today Keri & I have to say good bye to Zakk and watch him leave and head back to College Station. One side of me wants to beat my chest like Tarzan every time I see him because I can see the incredible young man that he’s becoming.. The other side wants to burst into tears because he’s growing up so fast and I don’t get to spend as much time with him as I would like. I cherish the times when he comes home but I detest that the necessities of life (work for money) have to interfere with the amount of quality time that we get to spend together. On his last day home we were all able to go eat breakfast together. Then he & Mick left a couple hours later for the “South by So What” music festival at Quick Trip Park in Grand Prairie. I does my heart great to see Zakk & Big Mick getting closer and spending time together. That’s what Keri & I always wanted when they were younger. Zakk and Mick make us so proud; not because of their accomplishments or the things they’ve done but more because of the things they haven’t done and refuse to do. They both refuse to cave into society and its temptations. They stay away from activities that most teenagers fall prey to and when it comes to girls they both know that there will be plenty of time later in life for a relationship other than a friendship.

20140316-064508.jpg
My time with Zakk is becoming less with each passing season. In August he will be moving into his first apartment. I love the fact that he is becoming a man but hate that he’s no longer that little boy. I wish I could turn back the clock so I could have a do over. I would choose to do things differently. I would make sure to spend more time making amazing memories with both of them. Fond memories instead of choices not to make as an adult. I would choose just for us to go away on a couple of weekends a year to spend time together bonding as males. Not me going away to spend time with my friends getting drunk and acting like a fool at Nascar. I have only 2 1/2 years left with Big Mick before he goes off to college. We are going to start doing more things together.. All three of us are going to start making memories. Bonding as males.. I think it would be even more awesome if we could get my pop to go with us.. I think it would be a great idea for all four Williams boys to spend some time bonding & making memories together before it’s too late.. I don’t have memories of spending time with either one of my grandfathers.. My dad’s father passed away when I was 3 or 4 and my moms dad was closer to my cousins because I was the baby. By the time I came along he had been through 5 grandsons. I do cherish the memories of him riding with me on my sales route.

“Sons are a heritage from the LORD, children a reward from him. Like arrows in the hands of a warrior are sons born in one’s youth. Blessed is the man whose quiver is full of them. They will not be put to shame when they contend with their enemies in the gate.” (Psalms 127:3-5)

My CHALLENGE PRAYER for YOU.. Cherish your time with your children and start making memories together.

I hope you all have a GREAT day.. Blessings & much love….D

Live your life like it’s your LAST 24!!!!

#last24

Leave a Reply

