Friendship is More Than Convenience

Good Tuesday Morning my friends,

When I was younger my mom always told me that I would be judged by the company that I keep. When my childhood friends began to get in trouble as teenagers her words would resonant over and over in my mind. My high school classmates would probably be the first to tell you that I was no saint and I would tend to agree them.. But with that said, I did try to stay away from those friends that lacked control. We might have wound up in the same places on a Fri or Sat night but it wasn’t planned. We all have those friends that we knew we could run around with and stay out of trouble and we had those that if we would’ve ran around together it would’ve been bad news nothing but trouble.

I’m lucky to be able to say that I have friends that I’ve known & remained in contact with since before I started to elementary, ones that I met in elementary school, in junior high & in high school. You see, I always tried to be friendly and to be a friend to everyone. I tried to be different than the other kids.. I tried to make sure that I never came across as thinking that I was better than someone else. As an adult true friends are hard to come by. My Pastor always says, “you find out who your true friends are when you go through a valley in your life.” True friends won’t kick you to the curb. They won’t stomp on you when your down. In fact, a true friend will give you a shoulder to cry on, a hand to pick you up or be the cushion to soften your fall. I would like to think that my friends know they can count on me to be their true friend.

Jesus tells us in Matthew 22:36-40 that the greatest commandments are, “Thou shalt love the Lord thy God with all thy heart, and with all thy soul, and with all thy mind. This is the first and great commandment. And the second is like unto it, Thou shalt love thy neighbour as thyself. On these two commandments hang all the law and the prophets.” I don’t think its a coincidence that the two greatest commandments involve love. Love is the greatest gift that God gives us. Jesus tells us in John 3:16, “For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life.”

In today’s Scripture, John writes telling us that as Christians we should be different. The world should be able to see the love of God resonating from within us. He tells us we should be that friend that would lay down our life for someone in need. That we should be willing to interrupt our daily life and go help a friend out. That we should show compassion and help when a friends are in need.

“Marvel not, my brethren, if the world hate you. We know that we have passed from death unto life, because we love the brethren. He that loveth not his brother abideth in death. Whosoever hateth his brother is a murderer: and ye know that no murderer hath eternal life abiding in him. Hereby perceive we the love of God, because he laid down his life for us: and we ought to lay down our lives for the brethren. But whoso hath this world’s good, and seeth his brother have need, and shutteth up his bowels of compassion from him, how dwelleth the love of God in him?” (1 John 3:13-17)

My CHALLENGE PRAYER for you…. Be a true friend, not just when it’s convenient.

I hope you all have a TERRIFIC day.. Blessings & much love….D

Live your life like it’s your LAST 24!!!!

#last24

Leave a Reply

