Death is Nothing to Fear

Good Wednesday Morning my friends,

I have several friends that refuse to go to funerals of our classmates that have passed away. When I ask them why, they all say the same thing, “I don’t like funerals.” Truth be known, I don’t think anyone that attends a funeral is not jumping in joy about going. I don’t think they wake up saying, “oh boy!! I get to go to a funeral today.”

Over the last 18 months, I’ve had my fair share of thoughts about dying. Nothing drastic.. Just those normal thoughts that I’m sure ALL cancer patients play-over in their mind.. You know….the what ifs.. Have I done enough?? or will Keri struggle to get our boys trough college and then struggle financially? Are my boys take the reigns and take on life? It’s those things… What is my legacy??

I lived life 40+ years fearing the finality of death but I fear it no longer. Today, I can look death in the eyes and say bring everything you got.. I’m a child of God.. When my time is up my Lord and ONLY my Lord & Savior can call me home. Until the…death can take a backseat and come along for the ride because it is my desire to live my life like the apostle Paul whom said in 1 Corinthians 2:2, “For I determined not to know any thing among you, save Jesus Christ, and him crucified.” I want Christ to be my life because Colossians 3:4 says, “When Christ, who is our life, shall appear, then shall ye also appear with him in glory.” I want to Christ to be the principle in my life because Galatians 2:20 says, “I am crucified with Christ: nevertheless I live; yet not I, but Christ liveth in me: and the life which I now live in the flesh I live by the faith of the Son of God, who loved me, and gave himself for me.” Christ is all I want to know so I can say Romans 14:8, “For whether we live, we live unto the Lord; and whether we die, we die unto the Lord: whether we live therefore, or die, we are the Lord’s.” I want to share the Gospel with the masses because 1 Corinthians 1:17-18 says, “For Christ sent me not to baptize, but to preach the gospel: not with wisdom of words, lest the cross of Christ should be made of none effect. For the preaching of the cross is to them that perish foolishness; but unto us which are saved it is the power of God.”

Jesus tells us in John 6:35, “I am the bread of life: he that cometh to me shall never hunger; and he that believeth on me shall never thirst.” And in John14:6, “Jesus saith unto him, I am the way, the truth, and the life: no man cometh unto the Father, but by me.” As a child of Christ, I don’t have to worry about death because “For to me to live is Christ, and to die is gain.” (Philippians 1:21)

“According to my earnest expectation and my hope, that in nothing I shall be ashamed, but that with all boldness, as always, so now also Christ shall be magnified in my body, whether it be by life, or by death. For to me to live is Christ, and to die is gain. But if I live in the flesh, this is the fruit of my labour: yet what I shall choose I wot not. For I am in a strait betwixt two, having a desire to depart, and to be with Christ; which is far better: Nevertheless to abide in the flesh is more needful for you. And having this confidence, I know that I shall abide and continue with you all for your furtherance and joy of faith; That your rejoicing may be more abundant in Jesus Christ for me by my coming to you again.” (Philippians 1:20-26)

My CHALLENGE PRAYER for you… Magnify Christ in your body either by life or by death.

I hope you all have a WONDERFUL day.. Blessings & much love….D

Live your life like it’s your LAST 24!!!!

#last24

Leave a Reply

