A Calling Starts with Answering the Phone

It’s Friday but SUNDAY’S COMING!!!

Good Morning my friends,

Shortly after Keri & I were married, we started attending Southcliff Baptist Church. It wasn’t long after we started attending church there that I felt I was being called into the ministry. For several weeks I ignored my calling but after many sleepless nights, I decided to discuss it with Keri. I was a relative newlywed and we had just began talking that it was time to start our family. We had just purchased the house I grew up in in Watauga, so I voiced my concerns about our finances and how I was going to provide for her and our soon to be family while going to seminary. Some of my other concerns were that I wasn’t in the right place spiritually to serve God. I mean, I knew basic Scripture that I learned in Sunday School as a kid but I wasn’t equipped. I finally decided that the cons outweighed the pros. I arrogantly felt that God’s timing wasn’t right and that there was no way I was being called to serve. I began running, rebelling and hiding from God.
I had been running from God for almost 20 years when He sent me a message. My message was that I had been living my life, my way for most of my life and have yet to find peace. It was time to give Him a try. I didn’t understand why God would want to use someone like myself. I had turned my back on Him. I had failed Him, ignored His calling but yet He still wanted me to serve Him. The Bible tells us in Isaiah 55:8-9, “My thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways my ways,” declares The Lord. “As the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways higher than your ways and my thoughts than your thoughts.” When I read this verse I realized it wasn’t my place to understand it. My job is to be obedient to His calling and serve Him with ALL my passion. God doesn’t call the equipped, He equips the called. God will supply all our needs as long as we submit to Him and serve Him faithfully.
In today’s Scripture Paul is telling King Agrippa about his Damascus road experience and how he was called to serve God. The seed was planted in Paul by Stephen. God has the perfect plan. He wants us to plant the seed and then let Him do the rest. I can’t heal the sick, make the blind see, or the lame walk but I can plant the seed by sharing the Gospel and my personal testimony. The rest remains in God’s hands.

Jesus said, “I am Jesus whom thou persecutest. But rise, and stand upon thy feet: for I have appeared unto thee for this purpose, to make thee a minister and a witness both of these things which thou hast seen, and of those things in the which I will appear unto thee; Delivering thee from the people, and from the Gentiles, unto whom now I send thee, To open their eyes, and to turn them from darkness to light, and from the power of Satan unto God, that they may receive forgiveness of sins, and inheritance among them which are sanctified by faith that is in me. (Acts 26:15-18)

My CHALLENGE PRAYER for YOU… Stop hiding and running from God. Let Him bring the peace to your life that the world can’t offer.

I hope you all have a FANTASTIC day.. Blessings & much love….D

Live your life like it’s your LAST 24!!!!

Sunday’s Coming!!

#last24

Leave a Reply

