There’s More to Truth Than Spoken Words

Good Thursday Morning my friends,

One thing that I tried to instill in my boys is to always tell the truth. I would tell them, “If you always tell the truth then you will never have to remember anything any different. I would tell them not to lie and pass the buck to someone else but instead take ownership of your mistakes and learn from it.” Our human nature makes us automatically have the tendency to lie. We think lying will protect people from hurt but all we are really doing is justifying our wrongdoings in our minds.
A few years ago I found my marriage & life embroiled in turmoil. It was in turmoil because I allowed myself to get caught up in the world and the fleshly desires that it offers. I did my best to conceal my sin with one lie after another. I lied to justify the sin that stormed in my life. I told lies on top of lies. They all finally came to a head and as my life spiraled out of control instead of owning up I continued to lie. My self inflicted turmoil landed me at rock bottom. I was at my lowest point. I became enslaved to my sin. I could go no further down. I had hurt the three most important people in my life and destroyed my 20yr marriage.
Sin has a way of creeping into our lives and taking it over. The Bible tells us in 1 Peter 5:8, “Be sober, be vigilant; because your adversary the devil, as a roaring lion, walketh about, seeking whom he may devour.” Sin is not a game. It’s nothing to be played with, it will engulf your life and lead to your destruction. It will enslave you.
In today’s Scripture, Jesus talks about truth and it setting us free. The truth Jesus is referring is not of the same truth that I talked to my boys about but Himself. To see and understand this we must look prior to these verses. Jesus had begun his earthly ministry and had already performed many miracles. When we come to chapter 8, Jesus was in the temple courts teaching when the Pharisees brought a woman that was caught in adultery. They tell Jesus about her situation and tell him that the Law of Moses commands them to stone her. Jesus knowing that the Pharisees were trying to trap Him begins to write in the sand with His finger. When they kept questioning Him, he stood up and said, “He that is without sin among you, let him first cast a stone at her.” (John 8:7). All the Pharisees departed from the woman and after confirming that they didn’t condemn her He told her, “Neither do I condemn thee: go, and sin no more. (John 8:11) In the next few verses the Pharisees continue to challenge Jesus about His testimony and who Jesus is but Jesus tells them, “when ye have lifted up the Son of man, then shall ye know that I am he, and that I do nothing of myself; but as my Father hath taught me, I speak these things and he that sent me is with me: the Father hath not left me alone; for I do always those things that please him. (John 8:28-29). We are all slaves to sin and the only way to be set free from your sin is to accept Jesus as you personal Savior. In John 14:6, Jesus says, “I am the way, the truth, and the life: no man cometh unto the Father, but by me.” There’s only one wish to Heaven and that is through Jesus Christ.

Jesus said, “If you hold to my teaching, you are really my disciples. Then you will know the truth, and the truth will set you free.” (John 8:31-32)

My CHALLENGE PRAYER for you… Let the truth of Jesus set you free from being a slave to sin.

I hope you all have a WONDERFUL day.. Blessings & much love….D

Live your life like it’s your LAST 24!!!!

#last24

Leave a Reply

