Joy: A Small Word with A Huge Impact

Good Wednesday Morning my friends,

My boys bring Keri & I so much delight, excitement & pleasure to our life. We’ve tried to raise them to be respectful & friendly to all and to always see the positive not only in life but in all people as well. I can remember hearing Keri tell them when they were little to always be kind and speak nicely to other kids because you never know what their home-life is like. While Keri was shaping their hearts, I was building their confidence. I tried to instill in them that the world was at their finger tips and they were capable of accomplishing whatever they dreamt and they should ALWAYS DREAM BIG.
Our oldest son Zakk has always been opinionated, kind of loud, and wise beyond his years. He was bored & unchallenged in school from as far back as I can remember. Prior to his 9th grade year he tried to get Keri & I to allow him to test out so he could graduate early and get started in life. One thing we never did was pressure him to make better grades. He very seldom brought home any homework or studied for test. He always said he could make good enough grades while enjoying being a kid at the same time. He didn’t want to spend his time with his head buried in a book or studying just to make a 100’s when he knew he was going to make at least a lower 90 without any extra effort. His goals in life remain high. He knows he wants to go into medicine and I can honestly say that I’ve never seen him more focused on anything.
Our youngest soon Mick is quiet, reserved and very shy. He has a huge heart and a kind disposition. He is a gentle giant. His smile will light you up and pierce your heart. Although Mick hasn’t had an easy time as Zakk with school, he’s always been a good student, made good grades but it has taken some effort on his part. Mick is athletic. He’s got size & strength and his work ethic is second to none. He loves lifting weights but football is his passion. He lives and breaths it. His goal is to get a D1 football scholarship, play in the NFL, move into coaching at the HS level and serve God in youth ministry.
One thing I’ve come to realize in the last 6 months is that both of my boys are resilient. After experiencing what they did over the last 6 months; (regarding my health and starting in a new environment) where most kids their age would’ve buckled under pressure they persevered. They accepted the circumstances they were dealt, let their faith in God remain steadfast and allowed Him to give them peace. We couldn’t be more proud of them.
As much happiness as our boys bring in our life, Keri and I rejoice in our Lord & Savior. Our joy is in God because it was His blessings that allowed us to have Zakk & Mick. He blessed us with two amazing boys that have a growing relationship with Him. When so many youth are distancing themselves from God, ours are remaining steadfast.

“I will rejoice in the Lord, I will be joyful in God my Savior.”
(Habakkuk 3:17)

My CHALLENGE PRAYER for you… Love your kids and be proud of them but rejoice in The Lord.

I hope you all have a WONDERFUL day.. Blessings & much love….D

Live your life like it’s your LAST 24!!!!

#last24

Leave a Reply

