A Purchased Lamb or Stray Goat It’s About Knowledge

Good Monday Morning my friends,

I like many of you grew up in church… The earliest memory of church I can remember is when I was just a little boy (probably around 4) I went to church with my mom, sister, aunt, uncle, cousins & my grand parents to a small red bricked church right on Thomas Rd between Midway & Highland Ave. I don’t remember much about it other than it was hot, I was hungry and the preacher went on for what seemed like an eternity. I can also remember waking up and catching the church bus from Glenview Baptist Church that came up our street every Sun morning. It would make its rounds in Watauga and then take all the collected kids to Sunday School. Those were the good ole days..
I also grew up loving football. I can remember as a little boy paying football in my front yard alone pretending to be Earl Campbell, Walter Payton, & Billy Simms. I can remember playing catch with my dad and thinking that I could catch like Lynn Swann, or Drew Preason. I can remember pretending to be Roger Staubach, Terry Bradshaw and trying to throw left handed like Ken Stabler.. I can remember practicing my Billy “white shoes” Johnson end-zone dance. I had so many NFL hero’s. I could tell you their stats instantly. To hear me talk as a kid you would’ve thought I knew them. Many adults are the same way now. They can tell you all their favorite athletes stats, talk about their hobbies, their likes & dislikes and where they live as if they know them. But reality is that just because they know those things doesn’t mean that you know them. That’s merely a head knowledge of someone..
I grew up in church my whole life. I like many of other church goers as an adult could quote all the basic Scripture that I learned as a kid in Sunday School. Even as an adult I attended church on Sunday morning, Sunday evening & Wednesday night on a regular basis. It was just like when I was a kid. I pretended to know Jesus. I believed in Him but I didn’t know him.. I went through the motions.. I had a head knowledge of Jesus Christ but not a heart knowledge. My spirit didn’t bear witness to His..
In today’s Scripture, Jesus says, “I know my sheep and my sheep know me.” Do you just have a head knowledge of Jesus or do you have a heart knowledge? If you gave a heart knowledge of Jesus then your spirit will bear witness to His Spirit.. You will not want to conform to society.. You will not want to live in and of the flesh.. The things that you found appealing when you were lost will no longer be appealing. You will want ABSOLUTELY NO PART of those things.. You will not make excuses on why you are not going to church.

My friends just because you grew up in church doesn’t mean you have a heart knowledge of Jesus..

Jesus said, “I am the good shepherd; I know my sheep and my sheep know me— just as the Father knows me and I know the Father—and I lay down my life for the sheep.”
(John 10:14-15)

My CHALLENGE PRAYER for you… Check you knowledge and make sure it’s a heart knowledge..

I hope you all have an MAGNIFICENT day.. Blessings & much love….D

Live your life like it’s your LAST 24!!!!

#last24

Leave a Reply

