Affliction is Way More than just a Clothing Line

Good Saturday Morning my friends,

According to Merriam-Webster, Affliction is defined as something (such as a disease) that causes pain or suffering or the state of being affected by something that causes suffering. Charles Spurgeon said,

“The Lord gets His best soldiers out of the highlands of affliction.”

Dwight L. Moody said,

“we can stand affliction better than we can prosperity, for in prosperity we forget God.”

H.G. wells said,

“Affliction comes to us, not to make us sad but sober; not to make us sorry but wise.”

Those three men clearly understood affliction, why it’s a part of life and how to handle it.

Many times we get caught up in our affliction. We never think about the bush of thorns that we just walked through but instead we play the blame game and never think to look in the mirror to see all the thorns.. We pray to God to just remove them so our suffering will stop. The apostle Paul tells us that we should be thankful for our thorns. In fact, we should boast in them!! I know that’s hard to comprehend. I mean the thought of being happy when we are at our lowest of moments or in pain just doesn’t seem right.. It goes against our will. BINGO….of course it goes against our will because it’s not about us it’s about giving the glory to God..
20140110-224427.jpg
I read a blog a couple of days ago about a phrase I’ve heard a lot. It hit the nail right on the head.. In fact it was so good that I will share a link to it at the bottom of my blog. The phrase is, “God will never give you more than you can handle.” God wants us to be dependent on Him not independent from Him.. He wants us to go to Him with EVERY need and with EVERYTHING.. If we seek to glorify Him, give Him thanks and gladly boast in our suffering then we will gain His strength. What a blessing!! The opportunity to have the strength of Jesus leaves me speechless. I mean He endured His crucifixion. He willingly suffered more than any other man, woman or child.

Jesus tells us in today’s Scripture that, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” God will definitely give you more than you can handle but you will NEVER get more than Jesus can.. If that isn’t enough to make you turn a backflip, get up and dance and boast gladly about your weakness then you better check yourself..

Therefore, in order to keep me from becoming conceited, I was given a thorn in my flesh, a messenger of Satan, to torment me. But Jesus said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me. That is why, for Christ’s sake, I delight in weaknesses, in insults, in hardships, in persecutions, in difficulties. For when I am weak, then I am strong.” (2 Corinthians 12:7-10)

My CHALLENGE PRAYER for YOU… Strive to gladly boast about the thorns in your side.

I hope you all have a GREAT day.. Blessings & much love….D

Live your life like it’s your LAST 24!!!!

#last24

God will give you more than you can handle: I guarantee it.

Leave a Reply

