Resting Comfortably in this Scary World

Good Tuesday Morning my friends,

When I was a little boy my dad traveled with his job and he was gone quite often usually for several weeks. I can remember the uneasy feeling that I would get when it was time to go to sleep. As I laid in bed I would hear noises and then my mind would begin to play games. Before too long I would have myself so worked up & scared that I would crawl into my sisters room and beg her to let me sleep with her. She would of course put up a fight but with a little more begging and a few tears shed I would eventually beat her down and she would say ok.
My dad would finally come home after finishing building whatever he was building and it would be totally different. Don’t get me wrong, there’s no doubt in my mind that my mom would fight a bear or whatever to protect me & my sister but it was different knowing my dad was asleep in the other room. I felt safe & protected. I would rest comfortably in my room and in my own bed. Some would consider the world we live in similar to my nights when I was a little boy. Those that don’t have a relationship with Christ don’t rest comfortably in this scary world. Their fear take over and cloud their mind and they have the tendency to get caught up in the hustle and bustle. Their time gets consumed by their fleshly desires which eventually leads to self destruction. Jesus tells us in Matthew 7:13 that, “wide is the gate and broad is the road that leads to destruction, and many enter through it”, however Jesus tells us later in Matthew 11:28-30, “Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy and my burden is light.” Living a life redeemed by the blood stained cross of our Savior brings us comfort in this scary world. He replaces our fear with confidence which in turn allows to rest comfortably..
Today’s scripture should bring you comfort in knowing that in God we have the greatest peace and security.

“Whoever dwells in the shelter of the Most High will rest in the shadow of the Almighty. I will say of the Lord, “He is my refuge and my fortress, my God, in whom I trust.” (Psalm 91:1-2)

My CHALLENGE PRAYER for you… Rest in the security and peace of God’s loving arms..

I hope you all have a TERRIFIC day.. Blessings & much love….D

Live your life like it’s your LAST 24!!!!

#last24

Leave a Reply

