LOVE: It’s More than Just A 4-Letter Word…

Good Sunday Morning my friends,

I met Keri in August 1990 when I started selling electronics at Montgomery Ward in Irving. She worked in customer service which happen to be across the aisle from Electric Ave… If I told you that we fell in love with each other when our eyes first met, it would be an awesome love story but instead she hated me and the last thing I was looking for was love. She hated me because she thought I was arrogant. I say there’s a fine line between arrogance and confidence and I knew the difference. I was very confident..
We talked a lot but she stayed away from me. I finally broke the ice with her when I talked her into gift wrapping a dishwasher that I had bought my mom for Christmas. I ended up inviting her to a Super Bowl party at my apartment a month later. She ended up getting lost and didn’t show up until halftime and then left before the 3rd quarter was over. I ask her out on a date a week or two later. On our date, I picked her up and we went to the movie (Silence of the Lambs), then to dinner (Ft Worth Cattle Company), then downtown for a carriage ride. We then went to my apartment and stayed up all night playing Tetris and talking about life, goals and our dreams.. Prior to taking her home we went by my parents house so I could introduce her to them. Dad ask me to come back for breakfast after dropping her off so I went back for breakfast. I walked in and sat down at the table and told them that I was going to marry Keri. We started dating and Keri moved in with me within the next 2-3 weeks and a week or two later I ask her to marry me. I didn’t ask her in a romantic earth shattering way, in fact I woke her up in the middle of the night and ask her. We set the date for August 3rd and was married on that date in 1991. All I knew is that I was in love. Skkkreeeeech BANG…
Let me stop right there….. Let me just go on record and say right now that I didn’t have a clue what love was in 1991. Reality is I didn’t know the first thing about love. In fact, it has taken me 20+ years to figure it out and still don’t get it right everyday.. You see I was lucky to find someone that knew what love was and never gave up on me. She has always looked at me with blinders on.. She has always stood beside me despite me breaking her heart more than once and letting her down many times more. You see I was selfish… For 20+ years it was about me and what I wanted and nothing else.. Don’t get me wrong.. It wasn’t that I didn’t love her but rather that I didn’t know how to love her the way I was suppose to love her. Unfortunately I didn’t get the instruction manual as a wedding gift. I was left to figure it out on my own.
In today’s devotion Paul tells us about love. I can remember the first time I read these verses. They slapped my face, punched me in the gut, stomped on my toes and made me realize that I was falling way short. I try every day to show Keri that I love her like Paul tells us but I still fall short. Keri is my gift from God. She is my soulmate and I will go to my grave trying to love her like Paul tells me to in today’s devotion.

“Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. It does not dishonor others, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs. Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres. Love never fails.” (1 Corinthians 13:4-8)

My CHALLENGE PRAYER for you… Strive to love like Paul tells us to love…

I hope you all have an AWESOME day.. Blessings & much love….D

Live your life like it’s your LAST 24!!!!

#last24

Leave a Reply

